From: Judy Cercone jcercone@rmcres.com @

Subject: Congratulations on 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Date: October 1, 2018 at 1:01 PM
To: george.kafkoulis@gmail.com

October 1, 2018

Dear Superintendent Kafkoulis:

It is my pleasure to inform you that **Archimedean Upper Conservatory** in **Dade School District** has been recognized as an **Exemplary High Performing Schools** National Blue Ribbon School for 2018 by U. S. Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program award recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. Since 1982, the U. S. Department of Education has sought out and celebrated great American schools. The National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

Two representatives (school principal and teacher or staff member) from **Archimedean Upper Conservatory** are invited to Washington, DC for the November 7 and 8 recognition ceremony where each school will be presented with a National Blue Ribbon School plaque and flag as symbols of its achievements. If there has been a change in school principals this school year, the principal at the time of nomination and application is also invited. School representatives are responsible for the costs of their travel, hotel lodging and related expenses.

As superintendent, you are invited to attend the recognition events to support your school. Ceremony registration can only be done through the principal so, if you plan to attend, please have *Principal Demopoulos* add you as one of the official school representatives. For planning purposes, you must be registered for the November 8th awards ceremony and luncheon by **Friday, October 26th, 2018**.

For additional information about the ceremony and celebrating schools, please refer to: https://nationalblueribbonschools.ed.gov/current-ceremony/. School profiles of all 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools can also be found at https://nationalblueribbonschools.ed.gov/awardwinners.

Congratulations and thank you for your commitment to excellence in education for all children.

Respectfully Yours,

Director National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Office of Communications and Outreach U.S. Department of Education

Phone: 202.401.1767 Email: Aba.Kumi@ed.gov

Web: https://nationalblueribbonschools.ed.gov/
Follow National Blue Ribbon Schools on Facebook & Twitter or NBRS Express

<u>Newsletter</u>

From: Honeysett, Adam Adam.Honeysett@ed.gov

Subject: Education Secretary DeVos Announces Recipients of 2018 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

Date: October 23, 2018 at 12:13 PM

To: Undisclosed recipients:;

THIS INFORMATION IS EMBARGOED UNTIL 12:45 PM EASTERN TIME

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.



U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 23, 2018

Contact: Press Office

(202) 401-1576 or <u>press@ed.gov</u>

Education Secretary DeVos Announces Recipients of 2018 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today announced the <u>2018 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership</u>. The 11 principals from the 2018 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 7 in Washington, D.C.

"We know strong school leadership is a driving force behind ensuring students and teachers succeed," said Secretary DeVos. "I'm pleased to recognize these talented Bell Award winners who are helping to lead needed transformations at the most local level. Through their leadership, vision and effort, countless students – regardless of their family income, race or language proficiency – are able to excel."

Named for the second U. S. Secretary of Education, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education and improving outcomes for all students. The award is part of the <u>National Blue Ribbon Schools Program</u>. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.

The 2018 recipients are:

• CO – Fort Collins – Zach Elementary School, <u>Aisha Thomas</u>.

- FL Jacksonville Stanton College Preparatory School, Nongongoma Majova-Seane.
- FL Miami Archimedean, Upper Conservatory, <u>Demetrios Demopoulos</u>.
- MI Spring Lake Lake Hills Elementary School, <u>Jason Lawson</u>.
- NY Fresh Meadows MS 216 George J. Ryan School, Reginald Landeau Jr.
- OH Cincinnati John Foster Dulles Elementary School, <u>Elizabeth Riesenberger</u>.
- PA West Chester Saints Peter and Paul School, <u>Margaret Egan</u>.
- SC Taylors Tigerville Elementary School, <u>Diane Jackson</u>.
- TX El Paso Northwest Early College High School, <u>Tracey Speaker-Gerstheimer</u>.
- TX Rosenberg A.W. Jackson Elementary School, <u>Deana Gonzalez</u>.

Special Lifetime of Leadership Awardee:

• LA – New Orleans – Lusher Charter School, <u>Kathy Hurstell Riedlinger</u>, CEO.

Brief summaries of each recipient's work are also available at http://www.ed.gov/nationalblueribbonschools.

The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards.

###